Lee G. Luna Foreign Travel Scholarship

Sponsored by Sakura Finetek USA

Recognition - $6,000 Scholarship

The scholarship is to support foreign educational endeavors with the intent of learning and sharing histopathologic techniques.

Application Process

  • The recipient is recognized at the General Sessions at the NSH Symposium/Convention. 
  • In addition, the recipient of this award receives a$6,000 travel scholarship distributed on a reimbursement basis.

Criteria/Applicant Requirements

  • Recipient must be an NSH member for a minimum of 2 consecutive years
  • Can be nominated or can self-apply, but must use the application form
  • Must have at least one letter of recommendation that outlines the applicant’s commitment to the profession
  • CV/Resume required
  • Only complete application packages received by the closing date will be considered

Additional Application Requirements

  • Narrative stating his/her desire, ability and reason(s) to travel abroad
  • Official correspondence to/from the foreign facility, institution or laboratory or convention chairperson (if attending a meeting) stating agreement with and purpose of the visit, including tentative dates of travel
  • Submit an article for the NSH In Action” within ninety (90) days following his/her return to the United States

Anyone who has received the Lee Luna Foreign Travel Scholarship within the last 5 years is ineligible for this scholarship.

Past Recipients

2011 May Chin
2012 Andrea Grantham
2013 M. Lamar Jones
2014 Jack Ratliff
2015 Carrie Shray
2016 Jean Mitchell and Jane Parr
2017 Debbie Wood
2018 Dave David
2019 Jerry Santiago and Janet Tunnicliffe
2020: Evelyn Diaz

Dave Davis uses his Lee Luna Scholarship to host a histology congress in West Africa