NSH Leadership

Board of Directors

The NSH Board of Directors is committed to being accountable for the resources entrusted to us. We are here to serve at the direction of the NSH members, to ensure a strong and sustainable future for the National Society for Histotechnology.

Diane Sterchi Diane Sterchi


Diane Sterchi, HT/HTL(ASCP), Electron Microscopist (MSA)

Independent Consultant, New Palestine, IN

Michelle_Coker.jpgMichelle Coker


Michelle Coker, HT(ASCP)

Clinical Pathology Support Manager, Clinical Pathology Associates, Buda, TX

Luis_Chiriboga.jpg Luis Chiriboga

Region I Director 

Luis Chiriboga, PhD, HT(ASCP), QIHC(ASCP)

Director Ex-Path IHC Laboratory, NYU Langone Hospital , NYC, NY

Schneider_Dawn.jpg Dawn Schneider

Region IV Director 

Dawn Schneider, HT (ASCP)

Lead Histotech, Howard Young Medical Center, Woodruff, WI

andre.jpgAndre Zamorano

Region VII Director 

Andre Zamorano, MS, HT(ASCP) QIHC

Histology Manger, Roche Tissue Diagnostics, Tucson, AZ

Mr. Zamorano specializes in histology and immunohistochemistry with an emphasis in research and product development. He holds a BS in Public Administration from Nothern Arizona University and an MS in Biomedical Diagnostics from Arizona State University.

Mr. Zamorano is a member of the National Society of Histotechnology (NSH) and Arizona Society of Histotechnology (ASH).

Mr. Zamorano enjoys spending time with his family, playing golf, and photography.

Jean Mitchell

Vice President 

Jean Mitchell, BS, HT(ASCP)

Technical Support, Newcomer Supply, Middleton, WI

Ms. Mitchell specializes in muscle & nerve biopsies, electron microscopy, and epidermal nerve fiber density (ENFD) staining. She received her Bachelor of Science from Edgewood College and is a member of the National Society for Histotechnology (NSH), Wisconsin Histology Society (WHS), and the Biological Stain Commission (BSC). Jean has been active and an advocate for the field of histotechnology on local, state, regional, national and international levels for 35+ years, with numerous presentations and publications to her name. She is a fierce supporter of the Green Bay Packers and enjoys spending time with my unruly dogs, relaxing with a good book (and a good wine) and spoiling my grandson.

Liz_pic__002_.jpgLiz Chlipala 


Liz Chlipala, BS, HTL(ASCP), QIHC(ASCP)

Manager, Premier Laboratory, Longmont, CO

Michelle Hart Michelle Hart

Region II Director 

Michelle Hart, MS, HT(ASCP)

Histology Supervisor; Education Clinical Coordinator- Histotechnician Technology Program, Christiana Care Health Services, Newark, DE

Ms. Hart specializes in clinical surgical pathology/histology. She received her master's degree in Organization and Strategic Leadership from Neumann University and is a member of the National Society for Histotechnology (NSH), American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) and the Delaware Society for Histotechnology (HSD). Michelle enjoys volunteering for different organizations and helping others.

 Colleen Forster

Region V Director 

Colleen Forster, HT(ASCP),QIHC(ASCP)

Scientist, University of MN, Minneapolis, MN

Jeremy Johnston Jeremy Johnston

Region VIII Director 

Jeremy Johnston, HT(ASCP)QIHC

Laboratory Manager, Northwest Pathology, Bellingham, WA

Mr. Johnston specializes in histology, immunohistochemistry, molecular and lab management. He received his BS in Chemistry from George Fox University and is a member of the National Society of Histotechnology (NSH), American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP), Washington State Histology Society (WSHS), California Histology Society (CSH), Texas Society of Histotechnology (TSH), College of American Pathologists (CAP), International Society for IHC and Molecular Morphology (ISIMM). Jeremy is married to Sara and they have three beautiful kids (Sadie, Micah, and Tessa). Jeremy enjoys hanging out with his family and playing soccer in his spare time.

Beth SheppardBeth Sheppard

Past President 

Beth Sheppard, MBA, HT(ASCP)

Head Global Market Access, Roche Tissue Diagnostics, Tucson, AZ

Ms. Sheppard currently specializes in Market Access projects, External Quality Assessment program participation, Guidelines, Standards and Strategic Health Economics. She has worked in both private and academic management of Anatomic Pathology laboratories for 30 years. Presently, she is a voting member and committee representative with the Clinical Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI) and member of the ISO/TC212 Clinical Laboratory Testing and in vitro Test Systems, US Technical Advisory Group. Her faculty experience consists of Clinical Experience Advisor, and Instructor, State University of New York at Cobleskill, Faculty, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Fundamental of Pathology and Adjunct Faculty at Pima County Community College Histology Program. Ms. Sheppard has authored numerous publications and is a frequent invited speaker at state, regional, national and international conferences.

Joanna BartonJoanna Barton

Speaker of the House 

Joanna Barton, HT(ASCP)HTL

Histology Supervisor, NC State University, College of Veterinary Medicine, Raleigh, NC

Ms. Barton specializes in veterinary histology, including diagnostic and research samples. She received her BS in biology from the University of Massachusetts Amherst and is a member of the National Society for Histotechnology and the American Society for Clinical Pathology. Joanna loves her two rescue dogs, Poppy and Sadie, and enjoys following rescued Pugs on Twitter.

Susan Clark Susan Clark

Region III Director 


Pathology Manager, Mission Hospital, Asheville, NC

Ms. Clark specializes in general histotechnology, immunohistochemistry and management pathology. She received her Bachelor of Science from Barry University and is a member of the National Society for Histotechnology, American Society for Clinical Pathology, North Carolina Society for Histotechnology, Georgia Society for Histotechnology and Florida Society of Histotechnology. Sue is very passionate about histology and the future challenges we face. She has been married for 32 years and are the parents to one son and grandparents to two amazing young girls. The Clarks love animals - they have 3 cats (Luna, Pearl, Gracie), a border collie (Willie is crazy but soooo loving) and a red coonhound, Emma who just steals your heart with her big beautiful brown eyes. Fitness is a second love for Sue. Before moving to North Carolina she taught spinning, aerobics, yoga and personal training.

Donna Willis Donna Willis

Region VI Director 

Donna Willis, HT(ASCP)HTL

Anatomic Pathology Manager, Baylor Scott & White Health Baylor University Medical Center Dallas, Dallas, TX 

Vern Hurst Vern Hurst

Region IX Director 

Vern Hurst, MLT (CSMLS)

Medical Laboratory Technologist, Sudbury Regional Hospital, Sudbury, ON Canada