Fixation on Histology

Celebrating our Members—2022 NSH Awards & Scholarship Recipients

During the 2022 NSH Convention in Reno, NSH had the opportunity to recognize the 2022 Award and Scholarship recipients. Each year, NSH and sponsors recognize individuals who have dedicated their time and knowledge to the society and the field of histotechnology. Whether it is serving in a volunteer capacity or doing research that is helping move histology forward, NSH is honored to celebrate this year’s winners.

  • Dr. Guy Orchard, PhD - Jules Elias Award for Excellence in IHC & Molecular Techniques (Sponsored by Richard Cartun, MD, PhD)

  • Diane Sterchi, BS, MS, HT(ASCP) - Excellence in Service Award 

  • Sha'Aqua Asberry, HT(ASCP) CM - Ann Preece Award for Specialty & Esoteric Histotechnology (Sponsored by Polysciences, Inc.)

  • Paule Alphonse, BS, MS, HT(ASCP) -President’s Award

  • David Krull, HT(ASCP)QIHC - Histotechnologist of the Year (Sponsored by Epredia)

  • Volumetric histological characterization of optic nerve degeneration using tissue clearing: literature review and practical study, authors: April Myers, Jonathan Ford, Summer Decker, Fiona Crawford, Radouil Tzekov, Journal of Histotechnology Outstanding Publication of the Year

  • Dr. Richard Cartun, PhD, MD, Luminary Lifetime Achievement Award (Sponsored by Sakura Finetek)

  • Aubrey Wanner, Journal of Histotechnology Editor Award

    NSH and sponsors also provide scholarships each year, Scholarships can be used in a variety of ways including supporting additional education or helping support educational programs both in the United States and around the world. This year’s recipients are:

    • Convention Leadership Scholarship

      • Ashley Degner, BS, MS, HTL (ASCP)

      • Marion Olayon

    • Professional Scholarships (Sponsored by Avantik & Epredia)

      • Lavinia Ray, HT (ASCP)

      • Giorgis Yeabyo, BS, MS, HT (ASCP)

      • Student Scholarships (Sponsored by Avantik, Epredia & Sakura Finetek)

        • Megan McCart, BS

        • Duong Nguyen, HTL(ASCP)

        • Tori Smith, MA

        • Ashley Degner BS, MS, HTL (ASCP)

      • Peggy Wenk Histology Program Scholarship (Sponsored bySakura Finetek)

        • Debra Wood, BS, MS, HT (ASCP)/Indiana University

      • Helping Hand Scholarship for Histotechnology Outreach and Education (Sponsored by Newcomer Supply)

        • Linda Cherepow, HT(ASCP), HTL(ASCP)

        • Emerging Leader Scholarship (Sponsored bySakura Finetek)

          • Victoria Lahti, BS

        • New Professional Legislative Leadership Scholarship

          • Maria Artiles, BS, HTL(ASCP)

        • Scholarship for Excellence in Standardization of Immunohistochemical Techniques (Sponsored by Agilent)

          • Nadia Gale, MLT(CSMLS)

          Click here to read about the awards and scholarship recipients or watch the Award and Scholarship Celebration videos below. Don’t forget to nominate or apply for the 2023 Awards and Scholarships, which will open March 1, 2023.

          Awards & Scholarship Video 1
          Awards & Scholarship Video 2
          Awards & Scholarship Video 3

          Congratulations Winners and Thank You to Our Sponsors!
          Our Sponsors

          Written By Alisha Yocum, Manager, Member Services